The VFW Post 392 and Auxiliary 392 Annual Community Service Awards Ceremony was held on April 11th, 2024, at VFW Post 392, 2408 Bowland Parkway, Virginia Beach, VA. We proudly announced and recognized the following winners:

## **Voice of Democracy:**

First Place Eli S. Barritt Oaktree Academy

Second Place Gabriel Vandervelde Oaktree Academy

Third Place Nathanial Swindle Ocean Lakes High School

## Patriot's Pen:

First Place Charlotte A. Nguyen Star of the Sea School First Place Emma M. Fender Star of the Sea School Second Place Liam G. Radigan Star of the Sea School Third Place Camden R. Medrano Star of the Sea School

## **Smart/Maher Teacher Award:**

First Place Rachel Z. Schwarting Strawbridge Elementary School

Scout of the Year:

First Place Hunter J. Olsen Boy Scout Troop 62, Virginia Beach

## **Community Service Awards:**

Deputy Sheriff of the Year Sergeant Nicholas Davison

Emergency Medical Technician Senior Paramedic Jason Jones

Firefighter of the Year Captain Scott M. Springer

Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Detective Angela Murphy

911 Responder of the Year Master PSET Jesse Burdin

**CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE WINNERS!** These programs are a yearly event with the Veterans of Foreign Wars and Auxiliary. This year, VFW Post 392 and Auxiliary worked in combination with VFW Post 1211. Virginia Beach is very lucky to have such great students, scouts, teachers and community service members.

Also, <u>THANK YOU!</u> to all who volunteered: Marisa Tanner, Post 1211 Co-Chairperson, Gloria Jackson, Carol Tippin, Laura Santos, D.C. Santos, Kenny Golden, Ann Marie Brothers, Sylvia Smith, Jim Smith, Lillian Parker-Shuler, Connie Mitchell, Martin Wood, T.J. DeChamplain and VFW Post 392 Auxiliary President, Dinah Doyle. Submitted by: Sue Sowers, Scholarship Chairperson